Kingdom of Scotland

Errata / Updates

Adversaries
  • Promo 2 - 1st printing
    Errata for Kingdom of Scotland Lvl 1 -- Scotland's Level 1 "Trading Port" ability is missing a "1" in front of the Explorer. It should read "...in Coastal lands, Explore cards add 1 Town instead of 1 Explorer".
    So if an Explore would normally add 2 Explorers - due to an Event, or combining Scotland with France - it would instead add 1 Town and 1 Explorer.
    Tags: Explorer, Kingdom of Scotland

Frequently Asked Questions

Adversaries
Aspects
Definitions
Effect Rules
  • When Blight is added to a land with Vitality, does it destroy Presence?
    Not if there's enough Vitality to prevent all of the Blight from being added.
    Sufficient Vitality will also prevent extra effects of Blight being added, including those from Mining Rush (The Kingdom of Sweden Level 5), Irreparable Damage (The Habsburg Monarchy (Livestock Colony) Additional Loss Condition), Runoff and Bilgewater (The Kingdom of Scotland Level 5), Fragile Sands (Varied Terrains), and All Things Weaken (Blight Card).
    Tags: Blight, Vitality, Habsburg Monarchy (Livestock Colony), Kingdom of Sweden, 7 more...
  • When Blight is Added, what order do you perform all of the effects of Adding Blight? If you were in the middle of a Ravage, do you finish the Ravage first?
    Do the ‘Immediately’ effects on the Blight card, and then finish resolving whatever caused the card to flip (whether it's a Ravage or something else).
    More precisely, the order is:
    1. Take Blight off the card. If this empties the card, flip it, refill the Blight pool, and resolve any ‘Immediately’ effects on the card as a nested Action.
    2. Actually put the Blight in the land.
    3. Destroy Presence and do anything else that cares “when” this happens, like Kingdom of Sweden Level 5, Tsardom of Russia Level 1, or the Blight card All Things Weaken.
    4. If Blight was already present, cascade (returning to Step 1 in that adjacent land).
    5. Finish resolving the Action (usually the Ravage) that caused the Blight card to flip.
    6. Perform any Triggered Actions that care about Blight being added, like Kingdom of Scotland Level 5.
    In particular, if more Invaders are added to the land being Ravaged (e.g., with Promising Farmlands), they don't deal more damage, as that step has already happened; however, they are susceptible to a Dahan counterattack, and any new Dahan (e.g., with Unnatural Proliferation) would participate.
    (Discussion elsewhere) (Discussion elsewhere)  Tags: Blighted Island, Timing, Nested Actions, Blight, 13 more...
  • Does a cascade count as part of the action that added the original Blight (e.g., for effects that care about Blight being added during a Ravage Action)?
    Yes. This means that a Ravage in one land can, via cascading, add Blight into another land, even one on another board.
    For specific examples:
    • The "Destructive Nature" special rule of Heart of the Wildfire protects its Presence from cascades caused by Spirit Actions.
    • Against the Habsburg Monarchy (Livestock Colony), if a single Ravage Action causes 8+ Damage to a land, then all of the Blight cascading from that Ravage also counts towards the Adversary's "Irreparable Damage" loss condition. (In solo play, this causes an immediate loss.)
    • Against the Tsardom of Russia Level 1+, Blight cascading from a Ravage destroys Beasts tokens due to "Hunters Bring Home Shell and Hide," possibly harvesting multiple Beasts tokens from a single Ravage Action.
    • Against the Kingdom of Scotland Level 5+, Blight cascading into a Coastal land from a Ravage triggers the extra Blight from "Runoff and Bilgewater" even if the Ravage Action was in an Inland land or on a different board. If Blight is added into multiple Coastal lands this way due to a single Ravage Action (e.g., if a Ravage in a Coastal land cascades into another Coastal land), only trigger "Runoff and Bilgewater" once. (Thus if a single Ravage Action adds Blight into Coastal lands on multiple boards, player choose which of those boards is "that board" for "Runoff and Bilgewater.")
    However, cascading Blight against the Kingdom of Sweden Level 5+ doesn't activate the "Mining Rush" effect, since "Mining Rush" explicitly excludes cascades.
    Tags: Ravage, Blight, Victory and Defeat, Solo games, 6 more...
General Play
Invader Actions
Play Options
Power Cards
Setup
Spirits and Innate Powers